About the listing
Explore two exceptional Victorian Heritage Listed cottages.
Mott's Cottage - 5 Sackville Street, Port Fairy. The original timber cottage was built in 1842 by William Bird, a blacksmith. The two storied stone building was completed in 1851, when it is understood that the building was used as a boarding house. The cottage has had a number of subsequent owners and was occupied by Sarah Mott in 1918, giving the cottage its title.
Mills' Cottage - 40 Gipps Street, Port Fairy. Built in 1841, the original cottage is Victoria's oldest surviving dwelling. The property was acquired by Charles Mills, a whaling captain, in 1843. Charles' elder brother, Captain John Mills moved into the property and in 1856 added the larger substantial structure at the front of the building.
The cottages are open to the public on the first and third Saturday of the month from 2:00pm - 4:00pm and every Saturday throughout January.
- Does not cater for people with access needs.
Phone: 0400 873 487